The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

ATL cold in more ways than one.

A few links to keep, about my home state’s capital, Atlanta.

Hundreds line up in the cold for help heating homes

A day after hundreds of people queued up outside a Marietta community center to apply for assistance with heat and power bills, hopeful applicants began lining up again around midnight, waiting in the sub-freezing temperatures for the doors to open Thursday morning.

This time, however, officials let those in line come into the Mansour Center on Roswell Street an hour early at 7:30 and get relief from temperatures that dropped to 27 degrees.

“We’re freezing,” said Lecher Eady, a Marietta mother who arrived at midnight seeking help with her bills. “Our hands are cold, our feet are cold.”

Eady, the mother of triplets in diapers, said she has been out of work since August.

“I’ve had three jobs this year, and I’ve been laid off from all three,” she said. “I’m grateful just to get any type of help they’ll give me.”

Eady said she is trying to start a nonprofit organization, “Babies Need Diapers,” that would provide diapers to low-income single mothers.

“We have assistance for food, we have assistance for clothing, but we don’t have assistance for diapers,” she said. “That’s my biggest struggle right now.”

Diapers is one thing that I have not really thought about. The cost is so expensive, yet it is something I think gets easily forgotten. Many of the people waiting for assistance with their heating and gas bills this winter were families affected by unemployment.

In another write up:

A Marietta nonprofit group that helps people pay energy bills was forced to turn away dozens of people after it ran out of funding.

The Tallatoona Action Partnership opened its doors Wednesday to find hundreds of people — some who had spent the night in the parking lot — waiting in line for assistance.

Just wanted to keep these links handy…as I read more about just who got the bailout cash…this kind of desperation from families that really could use assistance is truly sad.

Filed under: Pathetic Observations, ,

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Reads: Passing the Death Bill …Hump Day Cartoons 
    The assholes are determined to pass the death bill. Meanwhile, Dak is hunkered down amongst torrential rainstorms and tornadoes.  So this will be a quick post: 06/21 Mike Luckovich: Ken gets real. This is an open thread. 
  • Sunday Reads: ffather’s Day. Just a straight “fuh”…
    👆🏼  See that image? I still haven’t spoken those two words together… and very proud of that fact. It is Father’s Day…so let me first start out by wishing all the daddies the best on this special Sunday. I was planning on writing a happy post, with happy links. Then I started to review the […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Butkus or Buttkiss? Hump Day Cartoons 
    Something tells me, that you will get a sense of where the title of this post is coming from… …by the sample of these first few images and cartoons.  Oh…shit. I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me post a few links, and then get to the cartoons.  The arse-licking was epic https://t.co/B46hfZRzjf https://t.co/1twoeuEpPW — Pat […]
  • Sunday Reads: Wonderful Women 
    Good Afternoon This is going to be quick, that is what happens when a migraine is on day two…and the medicine ain’t working.  This is an open thread. 
  • Wednesday Reads: tRumpaholics … Hump Day Cartoons 
    One of the first things we were taught in my survey of politics course when I was Junior in college, was the importance of pens in Washington D.C.  LBJ made them a big deal, when signing legislation…he would sign his name…each letter with a different pen, and then give this special pens out to those […]
  • Sunday Reads: London….This is London 
    The above tweet found this morning…. I’m not in the mindset to come up with the words today. In fact, I doubt that my brain can wrap itself around any type of news that poured out of London late last night. When I heard the sirens on the television, my parents were watching live coverage, […]