The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

Women in the news, and links, and stuff

I wanted to keep a few articles I have read recently handy so just bear with me.

Iran executes woman accused of murdering lover’s wife

Shahla Jahed, convicted of murdering the wife of an Iranian footballer, was hanged before morning call to prayer, reports say

Her execution is a defeat for human rights activists around the world who campaigned in the past nine years to stop Iran from carrying out her sentence. Last night, Amnesty International and several human rights campaigners called on Iran to stop her execution.

In 2008, the then chief of Iran’s judiciary, Ayatollah Hashemi Shahroudi, ordered a fresh investigation and did not sanction her execution to be carried out. But today Iran defied the international and domestic outcry by hanging her.

Activists in Iran widely suspect that Jahed was forced to confess to the stabbing. Karim Lahidji, the president of the Iranian League for Human Rights, described her as “a victim of a misogynous society” and said: “Shahla Jahed has never had a fair trial in Iran and has always insisted that she is innocent. Although Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani’s case is about adultery, her case is similar to that of Shahla Jahed because both are victims of the flaws of the Iranian judicial system.”

He added: “We are approaching the Human Rights Day on 10 December and once again Iran is executing another woman. That’s a clear signal that Iran wants to challenge the world on human rights issues.”

This is heartbreaking:

Jahed told the judge at her public trial: “If you want to kill me, go ahead … if you send me back there [where her confessions were taken], I’ll confess again and not only will I confess to killing her but I’d also confess that I killed those who have been killed by others.” She then repeatedly reiterated that she was innocent and that she had not committed any crime.

It is very disturbing that this “victim of misogynous society” was indeed hanged, I wonder what this means for another woman in prison over in Iran…Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani.

Then there is this bit about Angelina Jolie:

Bosnian wartime rape victims slam ‘ignorant’ Jolie

(AFP) – 1 day ago

SARAJEVO — Bosnian victims of sexual violence during the 1990s war on Monday slammed “ignorant” actress-turned-director Angelina Jolie, who is shooting a movie about Bosnia that has sparked controversy.

“Angelina Jolie’s ignorant attitude towards victims says enough about the scenario and gives us the right to continue having doubts about it,” the Women Victims of War (WVW) association said in a letter published Monday.

I think that WVW have a point…

“We wanted to talk woman to woman. She should have asked after the victims, come (to Bosnia) before the shooting to hear our voice.”

“As far as we are concerned a love story could not have existed in a camp. Such an interpretation is causing us mental suffering,” she stressed.

The 1992-1995 war between Bosnia’s Croats, Muslims and Serbs claimed some 100,000 lives.

Government officials estimate that at least 20,000 mostly Muslim women were raped during the conflict.

Again from Guardian,

Erin Brockovich’s town in second battle over pollution

Residents of Hinkley, made famous by Julia Roberts film, fight to stop history repeating itself over contaminated water supply.

I guess being a paralegal for so many years, it makes me appreciate the work that Brockovich did on these cases.  I am glad to see she is still fighting and working for the people.

And one more from The New Agenda:

When New is Old: The Men in Charge of Women’s Magazines

And it involves the departure of two women – Ann Moore from TIME Inc. and Cathleen Black at Hearst who is Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s schools chancellor pick.

Their ages? 47, 49, 49, 50. Hey – wait a minute – that’s my generation. Almost exactly. Didn’t I have a lot of women in my generation who, you know, had the same opportunities etc.? Oh well – this isn’t “my” industry. I’m sure someone can explain the absence of women to me.

There is a list of women’s magazines, and there is a lot of them, that are run by men.  I find it interesting….like when a male gynecologist tells me that my severe PMS is all in my head.  I want to scream: Well what gives you the right to know and understand something that only women experience.  Anyway, it is interesting to see just how many magazines that target women, and stand as a commentary about women’s issues are run by men. Hey, I know the difference between “Shit and Shinola” and this sure ain’t shoe polish.

Filed under: Absorbing Cock and Bull, , , , , , ,

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Sunday Reads: Corruption Junction…What’s your Function?
    Sitting on a hotel bed on Friday night, watching Maddow, I was introduced to this woman: Sarah Chayes Video of the interview is at this link: Expert sees risk of corruption in Trump foreign government deals This quote is from her book, Thieves of State: Corruption, it made plain, was not solely a humanitarian affair, […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Sick of this Evil
    You can feel good It has been so long since I think anyone of us can say…yes, I feel good. I found that image somewhere on the net….Instagram, Facebook…I’m not sure. No. Words. https://t.co/vOqwScJ18v — Ana Navarro (@ananavarro) October 18, 2017 Trump to widow of Sgt. La David Johnson: "He knew what he signed up […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Paper Towel President
    What a racist asshole… President Trump throws paper towels into the crowd at a Hurricane Maria relief event in Puerto Rico https://t.co/FLHYyPsaLD — NBC News (@NBCNews) October 3, 2017 Trump to PR official: "So what’s your death count? Sixteen? You can be very proud, only sixteen instead of thousands in Katrina." — Christina Wilkie (@christinawilki […]
  • Sunday Reads: Love is the Seventh Wave
    Well, one thing about being without internet or cell service…I am getting to listen to my music again. One of the songs in my list of purchased music is Love Is The Seventh Wave by Sting. It came out in 1985 from his first solo album, Dream of the Blue Turtles.   So optimistic….see what […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Doomed Worlds
    Once again it is late at night, and I am in the dark quickly writing this post. Only this time I’m hanging out in the car, the woods are full of bears here in Vogel…and I don’t mean the same kind of bears that some dudes find attractive. I’m talking the real thing. Real 🐻. […]
  • Sunday Reads: R-E-S-P-E-C-T …Take a knee
    The cartoon above was a good one… There is a lot I would like to say, but without internet or cell service…it is difficult to get any thoughts or words of protest out there. Hell, it is impossible to read the blog. So, since I’m writing this post blind…I hope that everyone is fine. Here’s […]