The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

I think I can….I will it I can….

"Little Engine That Could" illustrated by Lois Lenski 1893-1974

A few weeks ago, well more than a few weeks ago…a blog that was a refuge to me during the horrible gut wrenching presidential campaign season of 2008, had some inner turmoil. I  even wrote down some thoughts about it for my own therapy. As the weeks past, I have seen a blog that “can” flourish and evolve into something that is truly great. I am very happy to have found a place to read intelligent writing about all sorts topics, and where discussion, agreement, and non-agreement are nurtured and encouraged.  It has given me the opportunity to voice my concerns about some things, make jokes about other stuff, and keep my mind functioning (albeit in limited capacity).

I want to also put this down in writing…a thank you for Dak at  Sky Dancers and Wonk at Let Them Listen. It was a surprise to me that I was put on their blogrolls. My pathetic blog that I write for myself, as therapy or torture…mostly both. It has given me a boost and encouragement to keep on my path to glorified mediocrity. So as I continue to write crap that now, thanks to Dak and Wonk, a few people may actually read…I am very thankful and appreciative.

And on a side note, let me also say that I am grateful to Wonk for reaching out to me during a time when I questioned my own ideals and judgment of racism. Words cannot express the admiration I have for Wonk, and her amazing sense of perceptiveness. I am thrilled that she has become one of those authors of the reasoned and well written word that is found over at the “little blog that could.”

 

**edited to add this thought: I want to acknowledge the writers over at Sky Dancing, “The Fabulous Five” Dak, BostonBoomer, MABlue, Sima and Wonk the Vote….my hats off to y’all for your time and effort in writing for readers like me.

Filed under: Blah, blah, blah

9 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Minkoff Minx says:

    ** let me acknowledge the writers over at Sky Dancing, “The Fabulous Five” Dak, BostonBoomer, MABlue, Sima and Wonk the Vote….my hats off to y’all for your time and effort in writing for readers like me.

  2. bostonboomer says:

    Wow. Words fail me. What a nice person you are!

  3. NW Luna says:

    MMinx,

    I was interested to read that you are a fiber artist. I have been dabbling in this area off and on since as a kid I handwove with string, lavender spikes and ribbon on a loom I made out of sticks scrounged from the creek. Mostly I am awed at how creative and inventive humans, (and probably human females!) have been with fiber arts throughout the ages. It’s fiber engineering, really.

    Well, before I went off on that tangent, what I wanted to say was: Keep on with your blog. Good to read you over at Sky Dancing, and I will be checking in here too.

    • Minkoff Minx says:

      Luna, the thing that really interest me about women and fiber is the way how so many cultures in different parts of the world developed similar ways of weaving complex structures on simple looms. From Peru, to Sweden and Norway, to the Bedouin tribes of Arabia…there is this form of double weave that is woven by the women on very primitive looms. Yet the structure of the weave is pretty much the same. It is amazing to me that women on 3 different continents came up with a engineered woven structure that is so similar to each other.

  4. Sima says:

    Wow, Medieval History! Drool! So cool. I’m dabbling, at best, in that. My partner and I participate in the SCA and I do costuming and various other things, but I’m most interested in researching other aspects of life in the Middle Ages, such as customs, religion, tastes, scents, farming, well, you know :).

    I’m very interested in the fiber arts too. In fact, if I could go back and start over, I’d do Roman textile and fiber studies.

    • Sima says:

      My gravatar went missing! Think it’s because I’m switching over to a gmail account. Anyway, that’s me with the little red dog usually!

    • Minkoff Minx says:

      Sima, I thought you had an interest in Medieval stuff, cause I think your red dog is named Aelianora? Well, Alia Aenor was Eleanor of Aquitaine’s name in French…it was similar. (Eleanor is my favorite personality btw) Roman textile and fiber studies, now that sounds interesting.

      • Sima says:

        Actually I’m Aelianora, in the SCA :). The dog is Jaska, a Finnish name. And Sima is my name for posting online and playing online games, generally.

        In the SCA I’m a Tudor noblewoman, or a Tudor dairymaid, depending on the class I’m playing. It’s fun stuff, lots of camping involved.

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Evening Reads: Cartoons…No Joke
    Every time I tried to write today’s post, something kept me from starting it…whether it was lack of internet service…having to cook dinner, or just to take a nap. So as you can see, I’ve added an “evening” to the title. That should make everything OK… Obscene. https://t.co/rf80eeqi5Q — Nancy Sinatra (@NancySinatra) November 14, 2017 […]
  • Sunday Reads: No Moore… #MeAt14
    Well, when I was 14 years old, I had to wear a back brace. The corset kind, that came down over my hips and half way through around my ass. It was quite a surprise for all those teenage boys who felt the “urge” to carry out their “need” to slap ass…they got a hand […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Rainbow 🌈 Wins
    This is huge news: But Danica was not the only Trans woman to win last night. That's TWO historic wins for transgender women in politics during #ElectionDay 2017. https://t.co/BJZUnI5CGk — Mary Emily O’Hara (@MaryEmilyOHara) November 8, 2017 So proud of movement auntie, Andrea Jenkins, who became the first openly trans woman of color elected to […] […]
  • Sunday Reads: What’s going on?
    Good Morning I am so disgusted with Brazile and Warren. I am pissed off that this latest and blatant smear campaign on Hillary Clinton followed the same MO as the Comey fuck over from last year…release some “bombshell” reported as “over the top” and “scandalous” news by MSM, which is an obvious attack on a […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Not Again
    I don’t want to tell you what I thought about after the details about the attack in NYC started to become clear. One word I haven’t heard since yesterday late afternoon….Russia. A few links to get started: Did y’all see this? I’m writing this post on my phone, the roof of our house is up…and […]
  • Sunday Afternoon Reads: Weather is Frightful?
    Good Afternoon. Here in Banjoville, the temps outside are cold enough for flakes and flurries of snow, and inside our house…the dust from drywall is creating its own flurries. I am writing this post on my new laptop, which is still not completely set up..while I sit in a room, which is still designated a […]