The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

Thanksgiving Turkey the Cuban way….

  1. With Thanksgiving around the corner, I thought I would post a recipe for a Spanish Cuban way of making the Thanksgiving turkey. It also is a great way to get rid of some frustration…

    1 12 pound frozen turkey (I prefer Butterball)
    Salt and Pepper
    1 entire head of garlic (nice fresh and big)
    Fresh oranges
    Fresh limes
    Fresh lemon
    Dry sage
    Dry thyme
    1 can chicken broth (I prefer Swanson’s)

    Take the turkey and defrost it. Then the night before you cook the turkey make the marinade.

    Salt and pepper the bird inside and out.

    Get the cloves of garlic and peel them. I use the bottom of a flat, strong mug to pound them, then I remove the peel. Slice the clove in half. Do this for the entire head of garlic. Then get yourself a big sharp knife. (This is the part my son loves.) Start to stab the bird all over the breast, legs and thighs. You want to stick the pieces of garlic into the holes you just made in the bird. (What happens is the garlic will roast when you cook the turkey…) I will also stick a few cloves of garlic inside the bird’s cavity. Now put the bird in the roasting pan.

    Okay, now squeeze the oranges, lemons and limes, this is making a sour orange juice, if you have access to fresh sour oranges, then please use that. Squeeze equal parts of the juice to get a full cup. Then pour this all over the bird.

    Take the dry sage and thyme and rub this all over breast and legs, be sure to get it into the stabbed parts as well. I do not put a whole lot of sage and thyme on the bird because I do not like it when there is too much herb.

    Cover with aluminum foil and put this in the fridge. When you are ready to cook take it out and pour in the whole can of chicken broth. Do not pour this over the bird, just pour it directly into the roasting pan. Then recover with the foil, make sure you put the foil tight around the pan.

    Stick this bird in a preheated 425 oven for 15 minutes. Then lower the temp to 325. After one hour of cooking at 325, start to baste the bird every 15 to 20 minutes. Keep the cover of foil on the bird…and cook until the turkey is done…whatever the time required. About 30 minutes prior to when the bird is done, take off the foil and brown the top of the bird.

    Take it out and flip the bird over, so the breast is facing down in the juices. Let it sit for at least 10 minutes.

    Usually the turkey is falling apart by the time this is all done, so to serve it I will slice it up thin and put it in a serving dish. Keep the juices that are in the roasting pan and strain it. I will use this as it is like gravy, but for those who like the usual kind of gravy…just get some in a jar.

    The garlic will roast up slow and have a real good flavor that seeps into the bird.

    I hope you enjoy it, it really comes out good and everyone who tries it wants me to give them the recipe.

    -JJ

Filed under: Kudos, Hell Yeah Baby!,

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Evening Reads: Cartoons…No Joke
    Every time I tried to write today’s post, something kept me from starting it…whether it was lack of internet service…having to cook dinner, or just to take a nap. So as you can see, I’ve added an “evening” to the title. That should make everything OK… Obscene. https://t.co/rf80eeqi5Q — Nancy Sinatra (@NancySinatra) November 14, 2017 […]
  • Sunday Reads: No Moore… #MeAt14
    Well, when I was 14 years old, I had to wear a back brace. The corset kind, that came down over my hips and half way through around my ass. It was quite a surprise for all those teenage boys who felt the “urge” to carry out their “need” to slap ass…they got a hand […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Rainbow 🌈 Wins
    This is huge news: But Danica was not the only Trans woman to win last night. That's TWO historic wins for transgender women in politics during #ElectionDay 2017. https://t.co/BJZUnI5CGk — Mary Emily O’Hara (@MaryEmilyOHara) November 8, 2017 So proud of movement auntie, Andrea Jenkins, who became the first openly trans woman of color elected to […] […]
  • Sunday Reads: What’s going on?
    Good Morning I am so disgusted with Brazile and Warren. I am pissed off that this latest and blatant smear campaign on Hillary Clinton followed the same MO as the Comey fuck over from last year…release some “bombshell” reported as “over the top” and “scandalous” news by MSM, which is an obvious attack on a […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Not Again
    I don’t want to tell you what I thought about after the details about the attack in NYC started to become clear. One word I haven’t heard since yesterday late afternoon….Russia. A few links to get started: Did y’all see this? I’m writing this post on my phone, the roof of our house is up…and […]
  • Sunday Afternoon Reads: Weather is Frightful?
    Good Afternoon. Here in Banjoville, the temps outside are cold enough for flakes and flurries of snow, and inside our house…the dust from drywall is creating its own flurries. I am writing this post on my new laptop, which is still not completely set up..while I sit in a room, which is still designated a […]