The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

Confusion sets in…am I blue or red?

With all the crap going on in the world, my head is just completely overrun with thoughts. So dismiss my incoherent rambling for the rest of this entry, I am only working through something that has itched me lately, and that is…what exactly is my political affiliation? Cause with the 2012 election less than 2 years away, and with the shit that hit the fan in 2008, I feel that getting a head start in the fray is a good thing.

So let’s get one thing straight away, I am a woman…which seems to be a big determining factor in this years election. I feel proud that there are so many women running for office, and the fact that most of them are Republicans is not lost on my opinion that the Democratic party is a sexist bunch of assholes. (You are goddamn right that I am still pissed at what the Liberals and the Democratic Party did to Hillary in 2008. I don’t think I will ever get over that crap!) So does my support of women in office make me a “Mama Grizzly” …I guess it does. I did vote for McCain because of what happened to Hillary, but also because I really liked Palin. She was tough, smart and a threat to all those people who say they are pro-women…as a result, she was and is still being wrongly criticized in the Media…sexism is rampant when it comes to Palin and her other Republican Women candidates. (Lets not forget that these women are also very appealing to the eye…as pointed out here and here.) So what does all this mean to me, that I will be a pro-woman voter?

Geez, I guess that means I am a shade of pink. But am I considered a Pink Elephant? I don’t know, cause I am very happy that the recent decision about DOMA

Judge Joseph L. Tauro ruled that the federal Defense of Marriage law violates the Constitutional right of married same-sex couples to equal protection under the law and upends the federal government’s long history of allowing states to set their own marriage laws.

“This court has determined that it is clearly within the authority of the Commonwealth to recognize same-sex marriages among its residents, and to afford those individuals in same-sex marriages any benefits, rights, and privileges to which they are entitled by virtue of their marital status,” Tauro wrote. “The federal government, by enacting and enforcing DOMA, plainly encroaches upon the firmly entrenched province of the state.

But it does not strike down the gay marriage ban on any discriminatory grounds…it states that the law encroaches on states rights. (Which brings some other recent discrimination legal stuff going on…which I will get to later.) Hell, I know of homosexual couples that have withstood the trials and tribulations of “marriage” better than their heterosexual counterparts. And, as far as raising kids is concerned…there have been studies showing that there is no detriment to children raised by same-sex parents.

“The bottom line is that the science shows that children raised by two same-gender parents do as well on average as children raised by two different-gender parents. This is obviously inconsistent with the widespread claim that children must be raised by a mother and a father to do well,”

This opinion above…and the fact that I am very Pro-Choice, seems to add some blue to my make-up.  I am appalled by some of the Republican opinions on abortion. Tennessee Guerrilla Woman has it perfectly…(I know that this is just touching on the Abortion subject, but I got a lot to meander thru.)

Quote of the Day

“We will never go back to the way it once was. It (Roe v. Wade) wasn’t all that controversial. It was a 7 to 2 decision with only two dissenters.”– Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Then we get to the mess in the gulf. Which is so disturbing and disgusting to me, that so many livelihoods are being affected by this spill. That people are getting sick in the clean-up. (You can’t tell me all that chemical dispersant and burning oil is not a health threat to the people on the gulf coast.) I am pissed at the Obama Administration and the pathetic indifference they seem to have about this disaster.

Gulf State Officials Should Defy Obstructionist Feds…

Crude oil has reached Lake Pontchartrain. How did it get there? Ask the listless Obama administration, which rarely misses a chance to put its collective feet up on the desk, even as petroleum batters the Gulf Coast, its wildlife, and the economies of the Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and (as of Sunday) Texas shorelines.

Now that a half-ton of tar balls, oil sheen, and other waste has seeped into Lake Pontchartrain, the majestic city of New Orleans essentially is surrounded by a crescent of petroleum to its south, east, and north.

This would be bad enough if the federal government were toiling away to protect New Orleans, the state of Louisiana, and its neighbors from BP’s oil geyser, which has gushed some 4.86 million barrels of raw petroleum over the past 81 days. Instead, the Obama administration has repeatedly prevented state and local officials from trying to save the people, habitat, and creatures of this precious part of the American landscape.

His detachment and utter inability to handle this crisis really makes me mad that Hillary was not there to get this 3am wake up call.  I think that Obama has failed tragically. In addition, the First Amendment having been set aside so dramatically really makes me angry as well.

Here is where it gets hazy, because I do not think that there should be a ban on the oil drilling in the gulf.

A federal appeals panel on Thursday upheld a district judge’s order to block the Obama administration’s six-month ban on deepwater drilling in the Gulf of Mexico.

I don’t think they should ban these wells that have already been started, or in the process of starting. Geez, the people in this region have been hit hard enough with the spill. You want to knock them when they are down and put more people out of work?

Which leads me to another legal decision that puts me up on the fence…Whitewashing Black Racism

Why haven’t national media outlets reported on the vile and violent rants of the New Black Panther Party (NBPP) thugs whose 2008 voter-intimidation tactics got a pass from the Obama administration? Simple: Radical black racism doesn’t fit the Hope and Change narrative.

So the DOJ decided not to go forward with this Black Panther thing…because as cited above: Obama officials believe “civil-rights law should not be enforced in a race-neutral manner, and should never be enforced against blacks or other national minorities.” Yet, the recent verdict of “involuntary manslaughter” over in San Francisco will move the DOJ to “…conduct an independent review of the Johannes Mehserle case in order to determine whether or not the shooting merits federal prosecution, according the department.” Now I realize the major differences in these to situations. I do not pretend to think that someone being killed is in any way the same thing as people being intimidated at voting precincts. But am I the only one who sees a bit of a problem with this? There is a double standard here, and I think it is clear that something deeper is going on here. This bothers me.

I am also bothered by the Arizona Lawsuit thing…I must say that racial profiling is very popular over in the little red neck town I live in. The cops wait until the Spanish mass is over and then pull over all the participants leaving the church…for important things like a busted tail light…only to arrest the driver and passengers for lack of identification or a host of other problems. The Mexicans in my town have to deal with a lot of racial profiling…we even get some discrimination in my family because of the last name…”Lopez” and no we are not Mexican…we are Spanish, Cuban, Italian, Sicilian descendent’s.

I think this is a very good article about the U.S. vs Arizona it touches on the real complaint of the lawsuit…which is also discussed here.

Oops! So what happened to all that discrimination and violation of civil rights that the Arizona immigration law was supposed to cause? Apparently the federal government decided it was so lacking that they didn’t include it in their lawsuit against the Arizona law.

As widely anticipated, Attorney General Eric Holder today filed a lawsuit against Arizona and Gov. Jan Brewer over the state’s immigration law. The suit seeks a preliminary injunction to stop the law from being implemented. The court filing states that Arizona law is pre-empted by federal law and therefore violates the supremacy clause of the U.S. Constitution. The filing makes no assertion that the law is discriminatory or risks being applied in a discriminatory fashion, as the president and other officials said they feared would be the case. Interestingly, this suit makes no civil rights charges against the Arizona law.

So,  the Arizona law which was seen as discrimination by Obama, is being brought to court for reasons other than discrimination. Hey,  I can understand what the Arizona citizens near the border are facing.  I think Tom Foreman has a very good point:

First, because, let’s face it, you have plenty of trouble already. Oil spills, foreign wars, and oh yes…and economy that has more people pounding the pavement than New Year’s Eve in Times Square. If you think the millions of unemployed families in this country are sitting around saying, “Oh yes, I need work, but let’s focus on the Arizona law first,” I fear you are mistaken. Remember, even presidents have to pick their fights. You can’t go to the mat over every issue.

Second, people like this law. Polls have shown that most Americans think what Arizona has done to address illegal immigration is proper, and they aren’t too impressed with what the federal government has done…which, uh, seems to be not much.

And third, as far as I can tell, you don’t have a good alternative. This is really the backbreaker, I think. As you have learned, there are plenty of people in the public sphere who just like to stand in the way of anyone else doing anything. Heck, your political party loves to go around calling the Republicans the party of “no.” And yet, here you are telling Arizona “no” while offering no concrete plan for something else that might help.

Which also brings up the point about the lack of any kind of help from the Obama Administration when it comes to crisis that our States are facing. That not only includes  the Gulf States and the Border States…but look at California and all the teachers unions that are looking for help. The U.S. just seems to be going to hell in a handbasket.

After all, America is piling up deficits at a record rate of about $1.5 trillion a year while other countries are slashing their spending. The national debt cascades over $13 trillion and is on track to reach $20 trillion within a decade. The current recession is heading into its third year. Unemployment still hovers at nearly 10 percent. Much of the country thinks the war in Afghanistan is as good as lost. There are more than 80,000 American troops deployed there, along with nearly 50,000 allied soldiers — facing fewer than 10,000 Taliban insurgents. The largest oil spill in American history has been gushing up from the Gulf for nearly 80 days, with vague promises that it could be plugged in another month or so. Between 11 million and 20 million illegal aliens currently reside in the United States. And we cannot seem to stop another half million from crossing illegally into America each year.

Or is it all just a state of mind?

The United States still remains the most racially diverse, stable, free, productive, and militarily strong country in the world. Its current crises are largely the political and cultural creations of the most affluent and leisured generation in civilization’s history — not due to longstanding civil unrest, structural weakness, or a sudden shortage of natural resources.

America may well soon decline and become no different from any other nation. But such a depressing future would largely be our generation’s own free choice; it is not a historical inevitability.

I began reading Victor Davis Hanson when he is mentioned in HNN and really think he is on to something…so much so that I have started reading some of his books he has written. (But that is off topic…but then I am rambling on and on so who cares?)

And as far as Obama with the latest NASA gaff…well I have already expressed my opinion on that, as well as the recent healthcare site that the Obamacare has set up, not to mention Obama’s strategy of “Apology Doctrine” that I am also thinking about . That term apology doctrine is what I call it, don’t know if there is anything written about that or not, it is one of the other things I am researching. (See the rambling continues…)

But to get back to the subject at hand, what the hell am I? A blue Democrat or a red Republican? You tell me…maybe that is why confusion sets in…am I blue or red? I guess I am purple…

Until Later,

Maurice, Your Empurpled Working Boy

Filed under: Pathetic Observations, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Minkoff Minx says:

    Just have to add this link to my post…And then this from Tom in Paine:
    http://tominpaine.blogspot.com/2010/07/obama-being-obama-running-democrats.html
    “When Geraldine Ferraro, former Democratic Vice Presidential candidate said publicly that if Obama had been white, with his background, flimsy resume, history of non-accomplishment ( as a legislator who voted “present” over 100 times so he wouldn’t have to be on the record as having voted for or against a bill) and with his deep character flaws including serial lying, reversals of position when politically expedient, and reneging on promises, he would have been a joke as a presidential candidate she was vilified by the press and the DNC establishment.”
    Take a look, it is an awesome post. It also brings home that question I have…what the hell am I? Maybe being purple is not such a bad thing?

  2. Minkoff Minx says:

    I guess this is the real issue with the Arizona law…

    “Fox News’ own Judge Napolitano: Arizona law “is unconstitutional” because AZ “can’t write a law that says the federal law means something different in Arizona than it does in the other 49 states.” On the July 7 edition of Fox Business Network’s Varney & Co., Fox legal analyst Judge Andrew Napolitano railed against the Arizona law, calling it “un-American.” Napolitano called the law “unconstitutional” and noted that the Supreme Court has ruled that immigration laws are “strictly a federal issue.”

    http://mediamatters.org/research/201007090022?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+mediamatters/latest+(Media+Matters+-+Latest+Items)

    So if this was the case, why support the boycotts and focus in on the discrimination part of the law?

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Reads: Passing the Death Bill …Hump Day Cartoons 
    The assholes are determined to pass the death bill. Meanwhile, Dak is hunkered down amongst torrential rainstorms and tornadoes.  So this will be a quick post: 06/21 Mike Luckovich: Ken gets real. This is an open thread. 
  • Sunday Reads: ffather’s Day. Just a straight “fuh”…
    👆🏼  See that image? I still haven’t spoken those two words together… and very proud of that fact. It is Father’s Day…so let me first start out by wishing all the daddies the best on this special Sunday. I was planning on writing a happy post, with happy links. Then I started to review the […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Butkus or Buttkiss? Hump Day Cartoons 
    Something tells me, that you will get a sense of where the title of this post is coming from… …by the sample of these first few images and cartoons.  Oh…shit. I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me post a few links, and then get to the cartoons.  The arse-licking was epic https://t.co/B46hfZRzjf https://t.co/1twoeuEpPW — Pat […]
  • Sunday Reads: Wonderful Women 
    Good Afternoon This is going to be quick, that is what happens when a migraine is on day two…and the medicine ain’t working.  This is an open thread. 
  • Wednesday Reads: tRumpaholics … Hump Day Cartoons 
    One of the first things we were taught in my survey of politics course when I was Junior in college, was the importance of pens in Washington D.C.  LBJ made them a big deal, when signing legislation…he would sign his name…each letter with a different pen, and then give this special pens out to those […]
  • Sunday Reads: London….This is London 
    The above tweet found this morning…. I’m not in the mindset to come up with the words today. In fact, I doubt that my brain can wrap itself around any type of news that poured out of London late last night. When I heard the sirens on the television, my parents were watching live coverage, […]