The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

Who cares who the General voted for?

While stumbling along in my Reader today, I found this nugget:

McChrystal’s Tragedy An Update on the Entire Mess by Victor Davis Hanson

Victor Davis Hanson is a classicist and military historian at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University…So anyway, I think the one thing I find interesting here is this little tidbit…

Why should we know that McChrystal voted for Obama? To this day, speculations about Petraeus’s political ambitions are always predicated on queries like: “But what party would he run with?” How did that come up? Do generals now self-identify as left or right — and if so, for what purposes other than careerist advancement?

Which got me thinking, yeah he has a point. I mean why make that public?  Does that mean that McChrystal voting for Obama automatically makes him a member of Team Obama? Obviously not. It makes me think that is why Obama seemed to take the article so personal…I mean immediately “summoning” McChrystal around the world to fire him…when he procrastinated repeatedly talking to the General about the direction we would take in Afghanistan and the number of troops the General would need to get the job done.

Then there was this…

Petraeus was a wise choice. He will face far less criticism from the media and politicians than during 2007-8 (e.g., there will be no more “General Betray Us” ads or “suspension of disbelief” ridicule, or someone like an Obama at the confirmation hearing sermonizing nonstop on why Petraeus’s efforts will fail), because his success this time will reflect well on Obama rather than George Bush. Consider the further irony that Obama is suddenly surging with Petraeus. Not long ago he was declaring that just such a strategy and commander were doomed to failure in Iraq (see below). Of course, then he was running to take office on what was wrong rather than trying to stay in office on what’s right.

And then this….

Obama got our attention off BP for a day, and a bad day it was, as the spill regushed this morning in greater volume, so to speak. His speech was fine — if one ignores the usual serial invocation of “I”, “me,” and “my” that we’ve become accustomed to, as the president tries to radiate authority with first person pronouns rather than common sense reality.

That last remark about “…radiate authority with first person pronouns rather than common sense reality.” Wow, this really hits the spot.  I have to say dead on balls accurate!

Well that is my little spiel for today.  After having an OPM (Other Peoples Munchkin) over for the past two days has drained me from any and all desire to think, contemplate, or give a shit about anything…period.

Until Later,

Dominick, Your Beleaguered Working Boy.

Filed under: Absorbing Cock and Bull, , , ,

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Reads: Passing the Death Bill …Hump Day Cartoons 
    The assholes are determined to pass the death bill. Meanwhile, Dak is hunkered down amongst torrential rainstorms and tornadoes.  So this will be a quick post: 06/21 Mike Luckovich: Ken gets real. This is an open thread. 
  • Sunday Reads: ffather’s Day. Just a straight “fuh”…
    👆🏼  See that image? I still haven’t spoken those two words together… and very proud of that fact. It is Father’s Day…so let me first start out by wishing all the daddies the best on this special Sunday. I was planning on writing a happy post, with happy links. Then I started to review the […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Butkus or Buttkiss? Hump Day Cartoons 
    Something tells me, that you will get a sense of where the title of this post is coming from… …by the sample of these first few images and cartoons.  Oh…shit. I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me post a few links, and then get to the cartoons.  The arse-licking was epic https://t.co/B46hfZRzjf https://t.co/1twoeuEpPW — Pat […]
  • Sunday Reads: Wonderful Women 
    Good Afternoon This is going to be quick, that is what happens when a migraine is on day two…and the medicine ain’t working.  This is an open thread. 
  • Wednesday Reads: tRumpaholics … Hump Day Cartoons 
    One of the first things we were taught in my survey of politics course when I was Junior in college, was the importance of pens in Washington D.C.  LBJ made them a big deal, when signing legislation…he would sign his name…each letter with a different pen, and then give this special pens out to those […]
  • Sunday Reads: London….This is London 
    The above tweet found this morning…. I’m not in the mindset to come up with the words today. In fact, I doubt that my brain can wrap itself around any type of news that poured out of London late last night. When I heard the sirens on the television, my parents were watching live coverage, […]