The Minkoff Minx {Go Ahead…Make Your Move!}

"I get very passionate about what I think is right."-Hillary Rodham Clinton

And so it begins…

Well, I was born and raised in West Tampa…I am definitely what some would call an 80’s Chick…Since then nothing much has happened in the way of my celebrity, safe to say that I have wandered through this existence with few notable conclusions… “I am forty years old, unemployed and I live with my parents.”

Other than being married to Dan for 18 years, and have a boy and a girl, named for Jake Barnes and Lady Brett Ashley from The Sun Also Rises. (Yes, it will be interesting when they find out those characters were an impotent writer, and an alcoholic slut.) My husband is a survivor of the September 11th attacks on World Trade Center in New York. We did not know he was alive until he walked into the door 10 hours later, covered in ash and in a state of shock. Three of his office staff was killed, and six months later he was let go from his Executive Senior VP position at a well-known Wall Street firm. This turn of events cast us out of the elite income bracket…and after scrounging all that we could out of my salary as a family law paralegal, we moved in 2003 down to Blairsville, GA. It was a hard move from Manhattan to the red dirt and necked…backwood dry county (no booze allowed) of the North Georgia Mountains. Within the last year we have become one of those multi generational families, pooling our funds together by living in the same house…it is a sad situation that is becoming a necessity for many.

I always considered myself a Democrat,  and would have big knock out fights with my Republican husband.  Our “discussions”  used to get very heated, and at times the argument would continue for days at a time.  Then came the 2008 election and all the shit happened to my candidate Hillary Clinton. I was devastated. It was as if everything political I ever believed in was flushed down the toilet, by the exact party I supported since the first vote, which was for Dukakis back in ’88. This was a turning point for me, I found myself utterly disgusted with Obama, and was one of those who felt wholeheartedly…Party Unity My Ass!

I became one of those Clinton supporters that voted for McCain/Palin, something I do not regret.  Since then I find myself more and more reading all sorts of differing opinions…from both the left and right…and make up my own mind about things.  Some of the viewpoints I agree  with, and some I don’t…from both side of the spectrum. So that sort of puts me in no real “group” as far as my political affiliation is concerned.  Being a medievalist (as Medieval History was my Major in College) I sometimes find the belief of Ignatius J. Reilly in Confederacy of Dunces (my absolute favorite book) that we should elect a “King” by divine right somewhat refreshing, or perhaps his party “PEACE TO MEN OF GOOD WILL” would be more appropriate. I don’t know, it just is so depressing to see all this crap going on with our country, and the lack of any political leadership or accountability.

So I have decided to start this blog, Minkoff Minx, named in honor of the novel by John Kennedy Toole, A Confederacy of Dunces. Posting links to things I have found along the way and thoughts that I have developed reading through all the stuff that is out there in the “blogosphere.” So any of the shit you read here…is just that, shit. I guess it is a form of therapy for me to have this journal of my political, economic and artistic frustrations…much like Ignatius’ “THE JOURNAL OF A WORKING BOY, OR UP FROM SLOTH.”  This is my attempt to work through my thoughts and ideals…so if you are offended or do not agree with me, that is your opinion…this undertaking is my own, and not meant to persuade anyone.

So I embark on this, my commentary on life…consider me the Minkoff Minx that must be dealt with…this blog is my way of giving myself a proper flogging about the head and shoulders. It is a form of self-torture that must be worked out.

Until later,

Scott, Your Determined Working Boy

Filed under: What is this crap?, , ,

MinkoffMinx on Twitter

“I’m a Sky Dancer!”

I am so proud to be a member of the Front Page Team.

SkyDancingBlog.com

Sky Dancing Blog

I am very proud to be a part of this diverse group of writers. We have articles on a variety of topics. It is not just politics...we discuss psychology, health care, environmental issues, farming, economics, current events, art, literature and just about anything that sparks an interesting discussion.

~ a place to discuss real issues ~

Stop by and become part of the conversation.

www.SkyDancingBlog.com

RSS My post over at Sky Dancing:

  • Wednesday Reads: Passing the Death Bill …Hump Day Cartoons 
    The assholes are determined to pass the death bill. Meanwhile, Dak is hunkered down amongst torrential rainstorms and tornadoes.  So this will be a quick post: 06/21 Mike Luckovich: Ken gets real. This is an open thread. 
  • Sunday Reads: ffather’s Day. Just a straight “fuh”…
    👆🏼  See that image? I still haven’t spoken those two words together… and very proud of that fact. It is Father’s Day…so let me first start out by wishing all the daddies the best on this special Sunday. I was planning on writing a happy post, with happy links. Then I started to review the […]
  • Wednesday Reads: Butkus or Buttkiss? Hump Day Cartoons 
    Something tells me, that you will get a sense of where the title of this post is coming from… …by the sample of these first few images and cartoons.  Oh…shit. I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me post a few links, and then get to the cartoons.  The arse-licking was epic https://t.co/B46hfZRzjf https://t.co/1twoeuEpPW — Pat […]
  • Sunday Reads: Wonderful Women 
    Good Afternoon This is going to be quick, that is what happens when a migraine is on day two…and the medicine ain’t working.  This is an open thread. 
  • Wednesday Reads: tRumpaholics … Hump Day Cartoons 
    One of the first things we were taught in my survey of politics course when I was Junior in college, was the importance of pens in Washington D.C.  LBJ made them a big deal, when signing legislation…he would sign his name…each letter with a different pen, and then give this special pens out to those […]
  • Sunday Reads: London….This is London 
    The above tweet found this morning…. I’m not in the mindset to come up with the words today. In fact, I doubt that my brain can wrap itself around any type of news that poured out of London late last night. When I heard the sirens on the television, my parents were watching live coverage, […]